Track light extravaganza

I don’t know, but I’ve been told that retail stores have to have impart a sense of drama in order to succeed.

It’s almost theatrical:  you have to become a Lighting Director, when you’re not playing Leo Bloom in The Producers, toting up the sales tax receipts.

Now one thing I do know for sure is that you want to avoid that lurid neon dentist office / flat light Wal-Mart look.

Instead, what you need to do is is bathe your threads in a warm almost syrupy golden glow, and illuminate those gorgeous canvases on that back wall that gets the crappy light.

This of course costs money.

So last year I heard through a friend of a friend that this young guy was really good electrician even though he was unlicensed and had no insurance and that he could definitely help me get the job done cheap.  So he shows up in a beat up pickup truck, looks around, and then very studiously writes down some numbers on a piece of  paper that I have to loan him for the purpose.

Finally, he quotes me a figure of several thousand dollars.

The thing is, he adds, I have a job coming up in Miami on Monday, so if you just give me the cash for the merchandise up front, I can just hop over to Loewe’s right away, and have this all finished up by the weekend.

Yeah, right.

Now, a year later, here are some pics for the overhead track lighting I had installed for a fraction of the cost Mr. Pickup Truck quoted last summer.  Fabulous, isn’t it?  I took pics, of course, and btw, turned off the regular lights in the store when I took them so you can see the effect better.

Sweet, no?

But, will this help me create an even more attractive B&M that sells more stuff?

Hmmm.

The way my newly-launched online commerce web site is performing, my trusty little flagship B&M is just going to have to get top billing and do a star turn this season.

Meanwhile I can’t wait for my big new order of Silk and Ivory (50% merino wool, %50 silk) to come in next week. Everyone loves this thread and I think it will look terrific under the new track lights, not to mention in many of the new canvases that are going to be stitched this season!

🙂

 

Quick update (unrelated to track lighting)

The tech crew just put up a page on .land about the Stitch Clock.  You can check it out here.  I would love to know if you would be interested in trying out a small and very easy to use browser app to keep a diary of your needlepoint projects.  If so, please let me know!

tl1 tl2 tl3 tl4 tl5 tl6 tl7 tl9 tl10 tl11

 

8 thoughts on “Track light extravaganza

  1. Looking good, Erin! I’m with Phyllis – wish I lived closer so I could come in and ‘play’. Hard work and it shows!

  2. Hi Phyllis–please let me know if there is anything I can do to help. One of my favorite things to do is teach needlepoint to new stitchers. I have some nifty little kits coming in, which I will put on needlepoint.land when they arrive.

  3. Looks Fabulous. Wish I lived close. New to needlepoint, so at this point I am just looking around. Would love to try my hand at it but not sure if I could teach myself. I have done a few needlepoints but they were kits with instructions. Have put a few pieces in my wish list.
    Blessings,
    Phyllis

Leave a comment - no need to fill in your email address or name

