Memo from Erin

erin mcgrath

Dear Needlepoint Landers,

It has been a pleasure entertaining you by writing a needlepoint blog for the last four years.

When I started blogging, I had just parted ways with a needlepoint store that I helped run for nearly a decade or so, but which had come under new management.

I thought blogging would be a good way to stay in the needlepoint game, while I figured out what to do next.

After two years of looking around, I finally found the right spot for realizing my dream of owning a brick-and-mortar needlepoint shop.

Despite the enormous amount of work involved in running a needlepoint shop by oneself, I still found the time and energy to keep posting to my blog (this is my 300th post since my store opened in the summer of ’14!).

At the risk of sounding like I’m tooting my own horn, I would venture that this little blog became a rather popular needlepoint content destination during the last few years. It really does get a surprising amount of traffic on a regular basis, considering that I don’t purchase search engine keywords or do any fancy SEO stuff.

Now that Needlepointland.com has become known and somewhat established, I would like to take the good will I have built up with that URL and apply it to Needlepoint.land – my recently launched Internet sales channel.

What this means on a practical basis is that by the end of today, Tuesday, January 12th, 2016, my blog will no longer be viewable on WordPress.com.

Starting tomorrow, full-text articles (i.e., posts) will only be available via sign-up at Needlepoint.land.*  The way I see it, serious needlepoint stitchers value well-written, original content and beautiful pics.  My hope is that they will continue to view my blog as worth the few seconds it takes to register.**

You should keep in mind also that all Needlepointland.com traffic will (sooner rather than later) be automatically redirected to Needlepoint.land’s Home Page.

In closing, I’d like to thank you all for hanging out with me for the ride thus far.

I look forward to seeing you again at the new place.

After all, you won’t want to miss staying in touch with Needlepoint Land – where stitching still lives and needlepoint blogging is a veritable art!

 

Best,

Erin

 

*For subscribers to RSS feeds, the tech crew has added a Subscriber widget to the footer page at Needlepoint.land.  At this time, it provides text-only summary post content links.  Viewers can also click on the Subscriber widget to view the full posts, without registering.  This widget will remain available for a limited trial period, to allow new visitors the opportunity to evaluate the benefits of registering.  All registered users will have a more convenient clickable “Blog” option display automatically on Needlepoint.land’s Menu bar.

**I know how confusing it is to have to keep track of multiple logins and passwords.  Please note that I will be offering the ability to seamlessly login to my blog with either your Facebook account or local WordPress credentials.  After I set up the official Needlepoint Land Facebook presence, Sysadmin will be implementing this feature (probably sometime next week), following the resolution of any bugs encountered during the domain name transition.  If you are interested in my Facebook plans, please send an empty email to sales@needlepoint.land with the Subject heading  “FB”.

4 thoughts on “Memo from Erin

  1. Hi Pauline,
    Yes, I want to make it as easy as possible for everyone to find everything at Needlepoint Land as simply as possible.

  2. Dear Bonnie,

    Thank you for leaving a comment. I understand your concerns, and invite you and others who use news feeds to send an empty email to sales@needlepoint.land with “RSS” in the subject heading. My Sysadmin may have a working solution for you.

    Best, Erin

  3. I am going to miss reading your blog, but since I read it using a blog reader (feedly) there is no way I can use your new sign in system. Good luck in your new format.

Leave a comment - no need to fill in your email address or name

